Tokyo Grill & Sushi

I’ve been in Grand Rapids for over a year now and I have yet to have any Japanese cuisine outside of campus.

Can you believe that? Back home, I would have Japanese food almost every week!

2015-10-04 12.04.16

I finally made my way to Tokyo Grill & Sushi. I love the interior because it does remind me of a classic Japanese restaurant, ones that I’m used to back home anyway.

2015-10-04 12.05.00

They have a pretty extensive menu, and I think I spent quite a long time just staring at everything because I had so many cravings I wanted to satisfy.

2015-10-04 12.20.23

Most of the meals came with a serving of salad, either with ginger or onion dressing. I went with onion dressing, since everyone else did, and boy was it refreshing! And we’re off to a great start.

2015-10-04 12.27.59
Small-sized Sashimi ($22)

Sashimi! Can you believe this is a “small” sized serving? I think there was over 20 slices there. With a great variety from salmon to tuna to octopus, it was a delight. It’s not amazingly fresh, but I think it is fresh enough to do the job.

2015-10-04 12.35.21
Shrimp Tempura & Sushi Combo ($15.95)

Since I wanted a great variety, I decided to go with the Shrimp Tempura & Sushi Combo.

The sushi was alright, nothing much to shout about. The ingredients tasted well enough, but I didn’t really like how sticky the rice was.

The shrimp tempura used a different type of batter – it was crispier, but also not as soft as the traditional one.

I did, however, love the grilled vegetables. The flavors were great and consistent – just enough char!

2015-10-04 12.36.03
Beef Short Ribs ($18.95)

My friend’s Beef Short Ribs though, I enjoyed thoroughly. It was sweet and tender, so it scored points on both flavor and texture.

2015-10-04 12.36.13

2015-10-04 12.36.07
Shrimp Tempura ($14.95)

We ended our meal on a sweet note – with sweet, chilled oranges!
Would I recommend this place? Absolutely.

TL;DR
Overall, I really enjoyed my meal at Tokyo Grill & Sushi because they offered a great variety of things, and they also give a good portion of food. It’s not the best thing I’ve eaten, but it’s pretty good nonetheless.
Even though it’s on the pricier side, I think the portion size justifies the price tag because I definitely left bloated.
I would definitely suggest going in a group so that you could share things like the sashimi or sushi. 

Tokyo Grill & Sushi
4478 Breton Rd. SE,
Kentwood, Michigan, 49508
www.tokyogrillsushi.com

Operation Hours
Lunch: 11:30am – 3:00pm
Dinner: 3:00pm – 10:00pm

Weekend Hours (all dinner)
Saturday: 12:00pm – 10:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm – 9:00pm

One thought on “Tokyo Grill & Sushi

Leave a Reply

