Ju Sushi & Lounge

DSC03254
Servers hide behind bushes to greet you.

So, obviously I love Japanese food. Hence, I went on another week’s adventure to satisfy my insatiable craving for Japanese food. No surprise there.

This week, I went to Ju Sushi & Lounge. My first impression?

DSC03255

DSC03257

This place is hella classy and I don’t think I can afford anything. My wallet is crawling out of my jeans trying to save me from making a regrettable mistake. We were the first ones there too, so an escape plan would be feasible.

DSC03261

Nonetheless, we stayed. And we got green tea served in some fancy black pot. That only reinforced my belief that we were going to leave the place broke. But never mind that, because I was wrong.

DSC03265
Spicy Crab Pizza ($9)

The prices turned out to be pretty decent, especially since they offer lunch deals. More on that later. We started with this spicy crab pizza, which really wasn’t spicy… nor was it crab – it was imitation crab sticks (slight disappointment there).

But it tasted… bomb diggity bomb. The pairing of the creamy texture of the base, made of cheese and avocado, with the sweet teriyaki sauce was just a match made in heaven. I really liked the texture of the pita/pizza bread too – crunchy and fluffy. What a great way to start, Ju!

DSC03267
Lunch Special ($12): Tempura Chicken, Fried Dumplings, and Spicy Salmon Roll.

Back to the lunch deal. So you get to choose either 2 selections from the lunch special menu for $9, or 3 selections for $12. Obviously I selected $3 because… well, food. Also, I saw pictures on Yelp and thought that the serving size would be tiny, but boy was I wrong.

Of the 3, both the spicy salmon roll and the tempura were… well, okay. Nothing great to shout about, but not terrible either. Definitely tummy-fillers.

DSC03262

The star of the show? The dumplings. They were fantastic. Crispy to the crunch and heartily packed with shredded meat, the dumpling made my day. What made it special, though, was the dipping sauce. I don’t know what they put in there, but I sure bet it’s made of unicorn magic. (Or vinegar, but let’s stick with unicorn magic.) The tangy, sweet, and sour sauce added a new layer of flavor to the dumplings – you bet I want more.

DSC03268
Lunch Special ($12): Bulgogi Wrap, Fried Dumplings, and Spicy Tuna Roll.
DSC03271
Grilled Chicken Skewers ($7)

So, this time around, I kinda went all out. Like, all out. Like, full on 3-course meal. As in, I will miss the money I spent here but my tummy thanks me for the love I am showing it. So yeah, desserts.

DSC03272
Creme Brulee ($6)

If there is one dessert I dare claim with certainty as my favorite dessert, it would be creme brulee. No, creme freaking brulee. I think I squeaked when I saw they had creme brulee on the menu, so why not?

It was rather disappointing though. While the taste wasn’t all that bad, the layer of caramelized sugar on the custard was just too thick. It had almost as much of a heavy, sticky chunk of sugar than the soft custard within. Get your sugar-custard ratio right, Ju!

But I finished it anyway because, CREME BRULEE.

DSC03274
Green Tea Mochi Ice-Cream ($4)

The mochi ice-cream was delicious. They offer a variety of flavors, so if you ain’t a fan of green tea, please leave my blog feel free to opt for red bean, mango, chocolate, vanilla or strawberry. Although, I’m not sure if the price tag is justified.

TL;DR

All in all, though they have some misses, it was a pleasant visit to Ju Sushi & Lounge. With a beautiful, classy ambient; an extensive selection of food; generous serving portions; and a tantalizing price point, Ju Sushi & Lounge proves to be a restaurant worth multiple visits.

Ju Sushi & Lounge
1144 E Paris Ave SE, Ste 9

Grand Rapids, MI 49546

Operation Hours
Mondays – Thursdays: 11am – 10pm
Fridays – Saturdays: 11am – 12am
Sundays: 12pm – 9pm

Leave a Reply

