Stella’s Lounge

It’s voted one of the best burgers in the country, according to GQ in 2012. That means I definitely had to visit Stella’s Lounge to find out for myself.

Julie and I made it there around 5:15pm, and already it was crowded. We were put on a 45-minute online waiting list (yay technology), which meant that we could wander around, but we were already pretty hungry then. Once we were seated in the dark, tight space, we got our menus and ordered in about 10 minutes.

But the wait wasn’t over. After placing our orders, we waited for another 35 minutes before we got our food. You can imagine how hangry we were.

dsc06977
Hangry-no-more

Nevertheless, maybe the nation’s best burger is worth the wait. I got the a burger with American cheese stuffed in it, an onion ring, more onions, lettuce, tomato, and another slice of American cheese, served with their famous fries.

dsc06979
The Gov’t Cheese ($11.75)

I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either. Maybe my taste buds are just too hipster.
I also don’t think I can tolerate the crowd just to get this burger. Meanwhile the fries tasted like it was coated with buffalo seasoning and I just grew tired of it later.

Having to shout over the table to have a conversation and feeling claustrophobic the entire time just means I probably won’t return in the near future.

At least we got butterbeer at Jose Babushka later that night to end on a sweet note.

Stella’s Lounge
53 Commerce Ave SW,
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Operation Hours
Thurs-Sun: 11am – 2am
Mon-Wed: 4pm – 2am

Leave a Reply

