Curry Leaf

I think I found my favorite Indian restaurant in Grand Rapids.

There’s something comforting about eating Indian food, but at Curry Leaf, it’s something even more special – it reminds me of home, Malaysia. Perhaps it’s because they focus on South Indian food and feature familiar items such as dosa (tosai), goat curry, biryani, and medu vada.

DSC07526

I’ve heard good things about the place from my friends, and I decided to bring Nina along to try it out for ourselves. I was definitely not disappointed.

DSC07525

The interior looks like a diner and is an obvious mismatch with the food being served, but it didn’t really bother me that much, because I came for the food. #speakingmylanguage

DSC07527
Dosa

DSC07528

DSC07529
Of course I went for seconds.

There were a variety of chutneys, meat and vegetarian curries, biryani, and dessert served at the lunch buffet ($13+), but some of my favorite items include the dosa, medu vada, and the goat curry. Everything had rich flavors and tasted really good, except the naan wasn’t as fluffy as I would’ve liked (I’m just nitpicking).

From the good food to the conversations about food and family, I had a pleasant experience in Curry Leaf and would definitely return in the near future.

Curry Leaf Restaurant
2222 44th St SE,
Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Operation Hours
Tues – Thurs: 11:30am – 2:30pm (Lunch) | 5pm – 9:30pm (Dinner)
Fri: 11:30am – 2:30pm (Lunch) | 5pm – 9:30pm (Dinner)
Sat – Sun: 12pm – 3pm (Lunch) | 5pm – 9pm (Dinner)

Leave a Reply

