Terra

Edgar and I stumbled into Terra on an Easter Sunday because, well, most restaurants are closed on Easter Sunday. Kids, this is why planning is important.

Terra had a special brunch menu for Easter, so instead of running around looking for other restaurants in the area, we settled down (even though we knew Terra was by no means college-budget friendly).

DSC07539

It was a busy Sunday afternoon (which explains the lack of interior shots because I didn’t want to look creepy and violate privacy rights, I mean, it’s bad enough that I look touristy with my camera) but the service was quick and friendly. We got our food in no time… or maybe it was because I was busy talking to Edgar and didn’t notice the time. On a side note, I’m super glad this food blog project has allowed me to not only eat good food, but also get to know people better. Food does bring people together, doesn’t it?

DSC07540

DSC07541

Anyway, back to the food. I ordered a Breakfast Pizza ($18), which was a wood fired pizza topped with bacon, sunny side up, mozzarella, brown butter hollandaise, potatoes, and red sauce, while Edgar got the Pork Belly Hash ($15), which featured braised pork with a fried egg, vegetables, and maple syrup.

DSC07542

The food was so good! I’m a sucker for wood fired pizzas anyway, but the hollandaise sauce with the mozzarella did the job for me. The dough was light and fluffy, and they weren’t stingy with the cheese either. I stole a bite from Edgar’s dish, and the pork belly was so tender it melted in my mouth. Gosh. Terra prides itself in its artisan flavors and locally-sourced ingredients, and that definitely came through the dishes.

I’ve heard good things about Terra, but the pricing definitely makes it a restaurant for special occasions. I’ll definitely return for dinner to sample the rest of their menu.

Terra
1429 Lake Dr SE,
Grand Rapids, MI 49506

 

Operating Hours
Lunch: 11am – 3pm (Mon-Fri)
Happy Hour: 4pm – 6pm (Mon-Sun)
Dinner: 5pm – 10pm (Mon-Sat)
Dinner: 4pm – 9pm (Sun)
Brunch: 10am – 2:30pm (Sat-Sun)

 

Leave a Reply

