Donkey Taqueria

I can’t believe I have yet to blog about Mexican food on this blog! Shame on me.

I keep telling everyone that one of the things I will miss the most when I leave the U.S. is Mexican food – especially tacos. So, I made Sarah bring me to Donkey Taqueria for some tacos!

DSC07545

It was a sunny, warm Sunday afternoon, and the place was hopping! We were immediately seated inside, which featured a modern industrial look with brick walls and exposed ceilings.

DSC07546

We started with some chips & guac ($8), which tasted really good, but I’m not sure if the price is justified. Donkey is a more upscale taqueria though.

DSC07547
Chips & guac ($8)

The menu is simple and featured some familiar items, so it didn’t long for us to decide – which was nice because it gave us more time to chat.

DSC07549
The lovely Sarah Johnson ft tacos.

On to the real deal – tacos! We both got Tacos Al Pastor ($4), which featured marinated roasted pork shoulder, grilled pineapple, onions, and cilantro. Drizzle on some salsa verde, and it was de-li-cious!

I also ordered Taco De Panza ($4), which featured seared pork belly, salsa pasilla, queso cotija, habanero onions, and cilantro. This was definitely my favorite because the layer of fat in the pork belly melted in my mouth and the cheese gave it an extra layer of flavor.

DSC07548

The food was good and the location is stunning –  Donkey definitely makes for a hip hang out spot, especially if you’re looking for some margaritas as well.

Donkey Taqueria
665 Wealthy St SE,
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Operating Hours
Mon – Tues: 11am – 10pm
Wed – Fri: 11am – 12am
Sat: 10am – 12am
Sun: 10am – 10pm

Leave a Reply

