Sushi Kuni

You guessed it – more Japanese food! Except this time, I didn’t get sushi.

DSC07562
Friends!

Julie, Jose, and I came to Sushi Kuni for one specific reason – takoyaki.
Sushi Kuni is the only place in Grand Rapids, at least in my knowledge, that makes takoyaki.

DSC07558
Takoyaki ($6) aka ermergerd

What is takoyaki? Well, besides being my favorite Japanese snack, it is a ball-shaped snack/appetizer of octopus in savory pancake batter, topped with mayo, takoyaki sauce, and dried bonito. It is absolutely delicious! Now the only thing they need to bring to Grand Rapids is okonomiyaki (google it, I dare you)!

DSC07559
Tempura Udon ($12)

But on to the other food! I ordered a tempura udon ($12); it came in a generous portion and tasted really yummy. A soup dish was just what I needed since I wasn’t feeling all too well!

DSC07560
Chicken fried rice ($7)
DSC07561
Bulgogi ($16)
DSC07557
Why is it so dark?

Sushi Kuni also serves Korean dishes like bulgogi ($16), and other simpler dishes like chicken fried rice ($7). Most of the dishes tasted alright, but the price is definitely steeper than some other places I’ve been to. Also, does anyone know why the place is so dark? I’m perplexed.

Anyway, if there’s any reason to return to Sushi Kuni, it would definitely be for the takoyaki. If I remember correctly, I think they serve it with their bentos as well.

Sushi Kuni
2901 Breton Rd SE,
Grand Rapids, MI 49512

Operating Hours
Mon – Fri: 11:30am – 2:30pm; 4:30pm – 10pm
Sat: 12pm – 10pm
Sun: 12pm – 9pm

Leave a Reply

