San Chez Bistro

I’ve been craving Spanish food and some good paella ever since Spring Break 2016, when I got the opportunity to spend some time in Barcelona. Ever since I heard about San Chez, I’ve been meaning to go give it a try, but given its price range, suffice to say it’s a place that I’d only visit for a special occasion.

DSC07620

DSC07641
The gang ft. Jose’s forever-modelling face

And so I decided to go there to celebrate my 24th birthday with Jose, Julie, and Sarah! I made reservations beforehand, especially since their paella took 45-minutes to prepare. The interior was lovely and reminiscent of traditional Spanish eateries, with intricate tiles decorating the pillars.

DSC07621

For dinner, they only serve tapas – appetizer-sized dishes to share. To complete the experience, I ordered a mixed Sangria ($9), which was a mix of white wine, red wine, and sparkling champagne. I can say, honestly, even though it was expensive, it was one of the best meals I’ve had in a long time.

DSC07622

DSC07624

We started with some potato and smoked cheddar croquettes, served with garlic aioli and jalapeno honey ($9), which was definitely a crowd favorite. We also got some sauteed shrimp with garlic, olive oil, and red pepper flakes ($10).

DSC07626
The dream. Look at that steam!

Then came the Paella Valenciana ($25), packed with chicken, chorizo, shrimps, mussels, and clams. It was SO good! You can’t go wrong with a seafood-packed paella! The 45-minutes they took to bake it really helped to infuse all of the flavors of the spices and seafood. Yum!

DSC07628

Next, we got the Queso De Cabra, baked goat cheese and tomato sauce, served with garlic bread ($10), which was pretty good, though the flavors of the goat cheese were a lot more muted than I am used to – not necessarily a bad thing.

DSC07627

Albondigas ($11) were next – meatballs made from chorizo, lamb, and beef, served with roasted vegetables. This dish was a little dry, but it was still quite good nonetheless.

DSC07629

Finally, we ended with Vieiras Y Tocino ($12.50), scallop and pork belly skewer served with apply blueberry chutney. This was surprisingly delicious, and was definitely one of my favorite dishes of the night.

I don’t know when I’ll return to San Chez, but I’ll remember that place for sure. If anybody wants to take me there for a treat, please do. Heh.

San Chez Bistro
38 Fulton St W,
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Operating Hours
Sun – Thurs: 8am – 10pm
Fri – Sat: 8am – 11pm

Leave a Reply

